Thoughts | 2018

View current posts
View posts from 2019
Now viewing: posts from 2018

2018-12-12

As usual, it's been a long while. People tell me they do read my site, so that's nice.

Earlier I mentioned olduse.net. I recently came across something just as interesting. Telehack is "simulation of a stylized arpanet/usenet, circa 1985-1990." It seems like yet another fun way to waste time online.

I have also recently been trying to put together a nice DOS PC. I have also been experimenting vith various DOS variations, including MS-DOS 6.22 and the latest version of FreeDOS (all of these done in VirtualBox). There are ways to get a DOS machine online, and this can even be done for period correct DOS computers. If I have the time and can scrounge up either the money or spare parts, I will build a low-spec DOS computer to be used for IRC, Telnet, SSH, FTP, and some other stuff. Bonus: fully botnet free.

2018-09-22

I was recently invited to the alpha of tildes, which is a relatively new Web forum that is open source and hopes to do away with user tracking, which of course is something I wholeheartedly support. It seemed promising, but so far it feels very much like r*ddit which is a bit of a disappointment. I hoped it would have a better mix of people in its userbase. I still like the idea, and now I can send out invite codes (I have five right now) for other people to sign up as well. Hopefully this turns into a good community. EDIT 2019-05-24: Feel free to ask me for an invite code if you wish.

2018-08-15

I went to a cafe nearby and got a drink. I saw someone I know working there and talked to her for about an hour. It's so nice to just talk to someone in real life. I wish every day was this free for me, but nowadays I'm almost always busy. Why do we spend so much time being busy? What's the point of it if you don't have time to enjoy yourself? Go outside and talk to someone. If you don't have anyone to talk to just observe the people and environment around you. I personally find it relaxing.

2018-08-04

Well I screwed up today. I replaced the LCD ribbon cable on my laptop, and when I put it back together lo and behold only the backlight lights up, leaving the screen blank. Luckily it works with an external monitor, but now I'll have to take it totally apart again and sort it out.

Update 2018-08-15: I fixed it by just putting back the old LCD ribbon and taping some foam on the inside of the display to put extra pressure on the contacts where the ribbon cable. It's a shoddy way to do it, but it works okay. I wasted 2 bucks online and, as usual, I somehow have 2 less screws than when I started.

2018-08-01

I have been lazy and have not worked on the site for a while now. I did finally clean my room today. I normally have it clean but recently I've been in a bad mood and it's gotten dirty as a result. Having it at least somewhat clean actually puts me in a better mood. I feel less stress. I'd personally recommend reading the book "The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up" by Marie Kondo. The title is self-explanatory, and it's a pretty nice book.

2018-07-12 | usenet

I wonder if anyone reads these. That's the problem with having your own site. Most of the time, you never know who's visiting, or if they even care. Even so, having one, I find, is somewhat therapeutic. I hope that people find my site as interesting as I find other personal sites online.
I added a link to olduse.net in the outside links section of my site. It has an NNTP (Network News Transfer Protocol) server. You can connect NNTP clients to this server, and experience Usenet posts in real time, only from 30 years ago. Right now posts are from 1988. The latest interesting occurrence has been some asshole who calls himself "JJ" spamming nearly every single server with the message "HELP ME!" and begging for money, claiming he is a broke college senior. He in fact isn't, and was known to have begged for money on other places as well, and of course he is neither broke nor a college student. The caustic responses to JJ were very fun to read. If you're interested in olduse.net, try downloading any NNTP client, and pointing it to nntp.olduse.net. I think that the same demographic of people likely to visit this site and even read this are likely to find this interesting. Good night.

2018-07-04

I found something interesting online, and I guess this is as good a place as any to share it. Maybe I'll start using the blog page as a place to share things I find online, but not things I want to put in the "outside links" section. I might add it there anyway. here it is. . Some dude takes a motorola portable device and repurposes it.

2018-06-08

I guess today I'll put something in here. I'm not sure what to write about. What does some random person's blog in an obscure corner of the internet matter anyway? If anyone is reading this, I hope you're having a nice night or day or whatever. With this site I'm really hoping to make something interesting. Despite my poor HTML skills, and poor programming skills in general I hope to create a site with unique content that offers actual reasons to visit. So stay tuned, and be patient and maybe something will come of this site.

2018-06-08

I guess today I'll put something in here. I'm not sure what to write about. What does some random person's blog in an obscure corner of the internet matter anyway? If anyone is reading this, I hope you're having a nice night or day or whatever. With this site I'm really hoping to make something interesting. Despite my poor HTML skills, and poor programming skills in general I hope to create a site with unique content that offers actual reasons to visit. So stay tuned, and be patient and maybe something will come of this site.

Top

email me at floppy@airmail.cc.