Thoughts | 2019

View current posts
Now viewing: posts from 2019
Posts from 2018

2019-12-10 | 8kun.top

8kun seems to be the proper replacement for 8ch.net. It's not exactly like it was but the activity level is increasing from what I've seen and even the old themes from 8ch are back. It almost feels like it used to. So, have a look.

2019-08-09 | 3D Printed Guns

DIY Guns: The New Improved FGC-9

3D printing has opened up much cheaper manufacturing of complex items in comparison to machining them from metal. It's plastic, not metal, but it can work. Using electrochemical machining, even a metal tube can be rifled to make a barrel. The entire thing can be produced without needing a machine shop or access to a lathe, or CNC machine.

2019-08-09 | ...

With the shutdown of 8ch.net, I'm left in the dust when it comes to a good place on the Web to talk to likeminded people. Lately, I haven't spent much time online, but checking in on /tech/, for example, was a nice break and allowed me to communicate with people who were nice as well as knowledgable. I hope that the site will come back up in the future, but the silver lining is that it has spurred myself and others to actively seek out and use alternatives.

One such alternative I came across is called Zeronet. It's a distributed method of sharing content in which every user can seed content. As long as a single seed is online, a site will be viewable. It isn't as streamlined as the regular Web, though. And the glow-in-the-darks can presumably upload illegal content which might end up being seeded by you accidentally. The bright side is that you can choose what to seed and what not to seed. And on 08chan, you can choose to mute seeders and entire boards if you desire. Then again, you never know when the party van will show up to give you a free ride you never knew you asked for.

Another site that's accessible over the regular Web, Tor, and even i2p is endchan. I'm hopeful about it so far and encourage you to check it out if you don't already know about it.


On an unrelated note, I found this article to be an interesting read.


It's been a while since I made any site changes. Lots of things are happening right now, so I will probably have more to share soon.

2019-05-26 | Signal Messaging

https://infosec-handbook.eu/blog/signal-myths/

I recommend Signal for secure messaging. Many people use insecure applications for messaging, and it can be hard to tell people to move to another. However, Signal has many features that regular people might like, which makes it easier for your average smartphone-addicted moron to use it. It's open source and end-to-end encrypted, which is it's main selling point. Of course, if you're using it on a typical cellphone running botnet OS, it probably won't help all that much but it's certainly better than most alternatives.

It also has a desktop client that works well. The only unfortunate things are: 1. It doesn't run on Windows XP and 2. It uses a whopping 200+ megabytes of memory when in use. It could be a lot worse, though. Try it out.

2019-05-24

I had one hell of a day today.

Aside from that, I'm reading the book Dune. Perhaps you can see the inspiration in the redesign of the main page of my site.

2019-02-19

I just replaced a dying HDD in my laptop with an SSD using an IDE to mSATA adapter. It works much better now. I will try to put up a small article in the coming days.

Top

email me at floppy@airmail.cc.